# Canada's Government

# Constitutional Monarchy

Constitutional Monarchy- A monarch inherits the right to rule but is limited by laws and a law making body elected by the people.

Canada's constitution lists the powers of the government.

The British monarchy, a king or queen, is the head of state. However, since the monarchy does not live in Canada, he or she chooses a governor-general to act in his or her place.

## Federal Government System

Canada has a federal government system, which shares power between the national government and the ten provinces and three territories.

## Federal System

### Provincial Government

#### **Federal Government**

- education.
- property rights.
- local government.
- hospitals.
- provincial taxes.

- national defense (military).
- trading, banking, immigration, and criminal law.
- postal services.

# Rights and Responsibilities of citizens

- Citizens 18 and older can choose to vote (it is not required)
- Citizens in Canada have many of the same rights as American citizens (such as freedom of religion, speech, etc.)

## Branches of Government

- Legislative (Parliament)
- Executive (Prime Minister)
- Judicial (Federal and Provincial Courts)

## Legislative Branch

- Parliament is the legislative branch of government.
- The House of Commons, the Senate, and the governor-general make up Parliament.
- Canadian citizens elect representatives to the House of Commons.

### **Executive Branch**

- The leader of the party with the most elected members of Parliament acts as the Prime Minister.
- The Prime Minister is the Head of Government.
- The Prime Minister and the Cabinet make up the executive branch which is a part of the legislative branch.

## Legislative/ Executive Branch

The Prime Minister chooses people from the ten provinces and three territories to sit in the Senate.

Both the House of Commons and the Senate make Canadian laws and policies.

## Judicial Branch

- Canada has both a federal and provincial court system.
- The federal Supreme Court is the highest court in the country.
- Nine judges serve on this court.
- The Prime Minister chooses the judges and the governor-general appoints them.